from 12€ to 28€

Opéra Underground

Tribute to Django Reinhardt

  • Grande salle de l'Opéra
  • 1 hour 30 minutes

With Stéphane Wrembel, Stochelo Rosenberg, Simba Baumgartner, Théo Ceccaldi Trio, Mohamed Abozekry

  • 20:00

À propos

Django Reinhardt, a virtuoso musician and outstanding composer, was probably the first guitar hero and remains a source of inspiration for musicians as different as Willie Nelson, Jimmy Hendrix and Andrés Segovia. 
However, the clichés that surround Django often obscure his genius: the crazy gypsy with the badly burned hand who played at lightning speed and broke all the rules was above all a great musician.
Stéphane Wrembel, a French guitarist who has lived in New York for 20 years, has been working for years to transform Django's image. Best known for his work as a composer for Woody Allen, Wrembel is also one of North America's most recognized gypsy jazz guitarists. Every year in New York, he organizes Django A GoGo, a series of concerts (including at Carnegie Hall, among other venues) where musicians from different backgrounds reinterpret Django’s works.
For Django 2020, Wrembel has invited a dozen guest musicians, ranging from the mainstream to the maverick, to play on the Lyon Opera House's main stage. 
Stochelo Rosenberg is a direct descendent of the Django tradition and has played with Stéphane Grappelli, among others. 
Theo Ceccaldi's trio has reimagined a Django who would not merely be confined to swing. Simba Baumgartner, Django's great-grandson, has just released his first album. Oud player Mohamed Abozekry has created a universe that owes as much to jazz as it does to the maqam, while Caroline Bugala, a former student of Didier Lockwood, moves with ease between gypsy swing and jazz.  
All of them are passionate about looking beyond the cliché of the gypsy virtuoso.

Stochelo Rosenberg : guitar
Stéphane Wrembel : guitar
Théo Ceccaldi : violin
Valentin Ceccaldi : double bass
Guillaume Aknine : guitar
Mohamed Abozekry : oud
Simba Baumgartner : guitar
Caroline Bugala : violin
Sébastien Felix : guitar
Ari Folman-Cohen : double bass
Nick Anderson : drums
Thor Jensen : guitar